The vegan diet has really become one of the most popular lifestyles for many who want to live longer, healthier lives. For many of these followers of this eating plan a glass of wine is something that fits nicely into the strict guidelines of what can and cannot be consumed. Yet many do not realize that not every bottle of wine produced does not meet the requirements to be considered truly vegan. It can be hard to believe since wine is really fermented grapes but it is true.
Vegans are not supposed to consume anything from animals and this includes eggs from chickens. So it comes as a surprise to many that some wine makers use egg whites in their process in order to promote clarity in their wines. And even more wineries use a gelatin that is animal-based in order to remove particulates from their wines.
This makes choosing the bottles that will fill their wine bags tougher for vegans who are looking for wines which do not include animal materials. Luckily more and more are starting to realize this group and their special needs and help is out there to find wineries which make wines that are vegan friendly in their entire process for a wine that will fit into this lifestyle easily.