The good news for all you vegans out there is that alternative, non-animal-based fining agents exist. Animal-free options include carbon- and clay-based fining agents. As the natural wine industry picks up steam along with the natural food movement, unfiltered or unfined wine is becoming more popular. Without fining agents, wine will typically become less cloudy on its own; it simply takes a little more time. Fining simply speeds up the process that may otherwise take a few months.
- There are meat alternatives for everything from bacon to fish sticks, dozens of dairy-free milks, and even vegan eggs have been invented.
- The Canadian Food Inspection Agency has labeling requirements for alcoholic beverages, but does not mention anything regarding if the wine is vegan.
- When doing your own research on vegan wine, it’s important to have patience and a sense of humor, as many people are still learning about the relatively new phenomenon.
“Grapes are miracle berries. These squishy purple, green, or red pint-sized fruits get transformed into delicious jam, juice, raisins, or oil. And the really lucky grapes? These darlings get fermented and become part of an alcoholic beverage that brings joy to humans for celebrations, holiday toasts, romantic dinners, or much needed relaxation after a long day.”